Sobel Weber Associates, Inc.

Brian Panowich

PRAISE FOR BRIAN PANOWICH

Praise for LIKE LIONS:

"Although the stark economic backdrop of rural Georgia and a cast of richly described characters fuel the narrative, it's the emotional complexity of Burroughs...as well as the brass knuckle punch of an ending that will have readers applauding. This is hillbilly noir at its finest."Publishers Weekly, Starred Review

"Brian Panowich's new novel, LIKE LIONS, is 272 pages of pure-dee rompin', stompin', asskickin' reader's delight."—Daniel Woodrell, best-selling author of Winter's Bone

"Brian Panowich's glorious return to Bull Mountain is another sprawling, brutal, no-holds-barred novel that held me in a death grip from page on until it kicked me out of the door with an ending I never saw coming."—C.J. Box, #1 New York Times best-selling author of The Disappeared

Praise for BULL MOUNTAIN:

"The opening chapters of this dazzling novel can give the impression that we're in hillbilly heaven...Keep reading. The wily author uses this soft opening to introduce a powerful retelling of the Cain and Abel story...Read and recommend to anyone who follows country noir or savors delicious prose."Booklist, Starred Review

"The storytelling is mesmerizing, with virtually every chapter set in a different timeline and focused on a single character, but the sense of immediacy carries over into each era. And while the violence is shocking in its coldhearted brutality, it's as aesthetically choreographed as any ballet."The New York Times Book Review

"Panowich deftly delves into 'something deeper than bone' between fathers and sons, between the land and its people."Kirkus

"Sociopaths, manipulators, and pathological liars abound, with the roads that led them each to their own brand of evil well developed...[this] book will appeal to readers of Wiley Cash, Ron Rash, and Daniel Woodrell for the way in which it brings the landscape and culture of rural Appalachia to life."Library Journal

... back to author main page

Other Featured Books