Sobel Weber Associates, Inc.

Urban Waite

Praise for Urban Waite

"It's getting harder and harder to tell the good guys from the bad guys in a modern western, of which Urban Waite's first novel, THE TERROR OF LIVING, is one fine specimen."-- New York Times Book Review, Marilyn Stasio

"A hell of a good novel, relentlessly paced and beautifully narrated. There's just no let-up. An auspicious debut."
--Stephen King

"THE TERROR OF LIVING opens with gentle beauty, calm before a bloody storm, before building intensity with swift, jarring, and confident storytelling power. A fine debut from a writer of obvious and substantial talents. Readers--including this one--will certainly be following Urban Waite for years to come." -- Michael Koryta, author of SO COLD THE RIVER 

"In the tradition of NO COUNTRY FOR OLD MEN, Urban Waite has written a nail-biter that takes off from the get-go and never stops, a book chock full of memorable characters and kick-ass writing. Clear your calendar before reading this one, folks, because once you start there's no stopping until the end, which arrived much too quickly for this reader. A smashing debut." -- Tom Franklin, author of CROOKED LETTER, CROOKED LETTER

"This formidable fiction debut by Urban Waite unfolds in short and often all too memorably violent sequences, yet the author also allows his characters room to wrestle with private demons as the intense, often gruesome tale races toward its satisfying resolution." -- The Wall Street Journal

"Urban Waite is a gratifyingly engaged writer. Strong in approach, unafraid of what lives past the shadow-line, he is also attuned to subtle balances, the shifts and alignments of the inner life that finally determine who we are and how we live. Complex, unpostured, and beautifully written, his stories ask for our best attention." -- Sven Birkerts, author of READING LIFE: Books for the Ages

... back to author main page

Other Featured Books